Successful local authority-led Universal Credit pilots announced


The 12 local authority led pilot projects that will support people to claim Universal Credit have been named.

31 August 2012

The pilots will focus on delivering the face to face support some people may need to make claims for Universal Credit, including online support, help with budgeting and job searches, reducing fraud and error, and reducing homelessness.

The twelve areas chosen to run pilots are:

  • Bath and North East Somerset Council
  • Birmingham City Council
  • Caerphilly County Borough Council
  • Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • London Borough of Lewisham
  • Melton and Rushcliffe Borough Councils (as a partnership)
  • Newport City Council
  • North Dorset District Council
  • North Lanarkshire Council
  • Oxford City Council
  • West Dunbartonshire Council
  • West Lindsey District Council

Read the DWP press release.