Building Safety National Group

We are changing our Building Regulations and Fire Safety task and finish group into a national building safety group to reflect the importance of the ongoing work and challenges that we face as a sector.

The group will help shape the sector’s response to the new system of building regulations proposed by the Government, and help us support housing associations towards a smooth transition into a new regulatory environment. The safety of residents will always be a priority to the sector. This group will provide overall feedback on their experiences and will support our work to drive culture change.   

The existing members of the task and finish group will retain their places on this group to ensure continuity with our work in this area to date. We are now recruiting to the remaining places on the national group, to make sure this group is representative of the diversity of our members and the potential scope of buildings affected by the new regulatory system.

What the group will focus on

The regulatory system proposed in the ongoing Building a Safer Future consultation focuses on buildings over 18m, or six storeys, and ‘complex’ buildings that house people with particular vulnerabilities. The Government is asking for feedback on this and we would expect this to expand to bring more buildings in scope.

Membership of the group will therefore reflect, but not necessarily be limited to the currently proposed scope. We’re also encouraging diversity of members and the following factors are considered when assessing applications:

  • diversity in terms of type and size of association
  • ensuring the group membership is formed of housing associations from a range of geographical locations
  • diversity of skills and expertise among the individual members of the group, including asset management, health and safety, compliance, development, technical and quality.

Who should apply?

We're looking for anyone who works at a housing association with an interest in building safety. To achieve fair representation, we are encouraging applications from housing associations based in the midlands and south, medium and smaller associations and supported housing providers.

As the scope of buildings affected by new regulations forms part of the Hackitt consultation, we will review the criteria for membership according to how the Government decides to apply the system.

The next meetings of the group will take place:

  • 10.30-13.30, Monday 30 September 2019
  • 10.30-13.30, Tuesday 17 December 2019
  • 10.30-13.30, Thursday 26 March 2020

How to apply

If you would like to apply to join this group, please complete the application form below and send it to by 12 August. If you have any questions please contact Eve McMahon, External Affairs Manager, on

Download the application form here

Download the Terms of Reference here