Devolution deals

The move towards increased devolution of power and finding has been led by the Chancellor and has been gathering pace since the initial Greater Manchester settlement in 2014.

The Cities and Local Government Devolution Act 2016 was passed into law in January 2016. It is a piece of enabling legislation which paves the way for combined authorities to emerge, for more responsibilities and powers to be devolved and for metro mayors to be elected.

Following high profile Metro Mayor elections in Greater Manchester, West Midlands, West of England, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Tees Valley and the Liverpool City Region, devolution deals are proceeding in the following areas:

  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough
  • Cornwall*
  • Greater Manchester
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Norfolk and Suffolk
  • Tees Valley
  • West of England
  • West Midlands

*Cornwall has the first county based devolution deal but will not have an elected mayor.

The Greater Lincolnshire deal, Sheffield City Region deal and the North East deal are not progressing following local disagreements around the terms of the negotiated settlement.

For more information you can view our briefings on the: