Building Safety national group

We set up the national building safety group to reflect the importance of the ongoing work and challenges that we face as a sector.

The group will help shape the sector’s response to the new system of building regulations proposed by the government, and help us support housing associations towards a smooth transition into a new regulatory environment. The safety of residents will always be a priority to the sector. This group will provide overall feedback on their experiences and will support our work to drive culture change.

What the group will focus on

The regulatory system proposed in the ongoing Building a Safer Future consultation focuses on buildings over 18m, or six storeys, and ‘complex’ buildings that house people with particular vulnerabilities. The Government is asking for feedback on this and we would expect this to expand to bring more buildings in scope.

Group members

  • Paul Dockerill (whg) - Chair
  • Suzanne Whitehead (Clarion) Vice Chair
  • Patrick Chauvin (Stonewater) 
  • David Hall (The Wrekin Housing Group)  
  • Jenny Harris (Sanctuary Housing Association)   
  • Paula Heatley (Peabody)
  • Heather Langridge (Optivo)  
  • Andrew Liles (Together Housing Group)
  • Brent O'Halloran (Hyde Housing Association)  
  • Gavin Pierson (The Guinness Partnership) 
  • Paul Mooney (Salix Homes) 
  • Steve Pettitt (L&Q Housing Trust Group) 
  • Emma Richman (Peaks & Plains Housing Trust) 
  • Sue Sutton (Salix Homes)

Who to speak to

Eve McMahon, External Affairs Manager (London and South East)