Homelessness National Group

The Homelessness National Group was formed in 2018 and shapes, informs and influences our work on homelessness. Over the last few years it has played a key role in shaping the NHF’s policy positions on homelessness. It has also engaged with government officials to shaped funding packages, such as the Rough Sleepers Accommodation Programme, Next Steps Accommodation Programme and the “Everyone In” initiative during the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic.

With the government’s manifesto pledge to end rough sleeping by 2024 its work has never been more important. The group promotes housing associations as key partners to meet this target and promotes the work of housing associations in housing and supporting rough sleepers and preventing homelessness.

Members of this group include housing association members as well as non-members co-opted on for their knowledge and expertise in the field.

Group members

  • John Glenton, The Riverside Group (Chair)
  • Martyn Hale, Trent & Dove Housing (Vice Chair)
  • Henri Baptiste, BME National (Co-opted member)
  • Mike Barrett, Porchlight
  • Louise Beard, Coastline Housing
  • Joe Donohue, Greater Manchester Combined Authority (Co-opted member)
  • Paul Smith, Elim Housing
  • Liz McCulloch, St Mungo’s
  • Guy Stenson, Gloucester City Homes
  • David Bogle, Hightown Housing Association
  • Simon Callaghan, Tyne Housing Association
  • Amy Cheswick, MHS Homes Limited
  • Marie-Claire Delbroque, Samphire Homes (part of Flagship Group)
  • Kathleen Hopgood, One Housing Group
  • Andrew Humberstone, emh group
  • Juliann Hall, South Yorkshire Housing Association
  • Hazel O’Halloran, Bromford
  • Andrew Redfern, Framework Housing Association
  • Ed Tytherleigh, Centrepoint
  • Claire Wise, Metropolitan Thames Valley Housing