Code of Governance review

We’ve been reviewing our Code of Governance with a view to publishing a new version in 2020, which will reflect timely issues affecting our sector, such as accountability to residents, health and safety, and equality and diversity in our organisations.

The new code will be published in November 2020. To ensure that all of our members – as well as residents and stakeholders – have had the opportunity to feed into this review, we designed a three-stage review process. Many thanks to all those who contributed.

1. Open consultation


The first phase of the consultation – on the core principles framing the code.


(Closed 13 March)

2. Collaborative drafting process

We appointed Campbell Tickell to work with us and our advisory group on the drafting of a new code. The new draft, informed by responses to our first phase consultation, was shared with members and stakeholders in our final phase consultation.

3. Final consultation on draft code

In the final phase of the consultation, which began on 5 August, we shared the draft code with members and stakeholders for their input. Find out more about this part of the process. 

(Closed 6 September)  

The final code, along with accompanying guidance, will be published in November 2020.

Advisory group

Our advisory group is guiding the development of a new NHF Code of Governance. The members of the group bring with them a wide range of expertise and perspectives in the housing sector and beyond.

  • Nick Abbey, Chair, Hundred Houses Society and Chair, Tower Hamlets Community Housing
  • Neil Blanchard, Chief Executive, Southdown Housing Association
  • Janet Boston, Tenant Advisory Panel member
  • Anne Chapman, Assistant Director – Governance and Compliance, Golding Homes, Deputy Chair, Eldon Housing and Vice-Chair, CIH
  • Steve Douglas CBE, Chair, One Housing Group
  • Dawn Fowler-Stevens, Group Growth & Assurance Director, Aster
  • Adrian Gordon, Governance Manager, Together Housing Group
  • Sarah Greenhalgh, Partner, Bevan Brittan LLP
  • Mark Henderson, Chief Executive, Home Group
  • Grainne Heselwood, Chair, Salix Homes
  • Bjorn Howard, Group Chief Executive, Aster Group
  • Pamela Leonce, Chair, Inquilab Housing Association
  • Maxine Loftus, Senior Assistant Director of Regulatory Operations, Regulator of Social Housing
  • Chris Martin, Group Company Secretary and Legal Services Director, Places for People Group 
  • Reverend James Olanipekun, Vice Chair of the Board, Poplar HARCA
  • Zoe Ollerearnshaw, Director of Governance, Hyde Housing
  • Dave Shaw, Head of Governance, Great Places Housing Group
  • Fayann Simpson OBE, Board Member, L&Q
  • James Tickell, Partner, Campbell Tickell
  • Joanne Tilley, Executive Director of Corporate Services, emh group