Healthcare providers

More about the NHS trusts, which provide services commissioned by CCGs, and how the reforms affect them.

What are they?

The organisations that provide most of the services commissioned by CCGs. In many cases they are NHS trusts, which must become foundation trusts by 2014. As a result of the Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust Public Inquiry report the government has allowed the Trust Development Authority to agree trajectories for NHS trusts to reach foundation trust status that goes beyond 2014 on a case by case basis. On the 16th of July Jeremy Hunt, The Secretary of State for Health   announced the merger of Monitor and Trust Development Authority. The new body will be called NHS Improvement. Also NHS England’s patient safety function will be moved to the new regulator. This may have implications on the current status of current NHS trusts that are not in a position to reach foundation status over the next two years.

Some services are open to competition from any qualified provider.

What do they do?

Currently there are a wide range of NHS trusts managing secondary care in England, including community care and mental health services. These include mental health trusts, acute trusts, and ambulance trusts.

What governs their decision making?

Once they have foundation status all NHS trusts will be self-governing, free from state control and allowed to raise their own funds. Foundation trusts are accountable to a board of governors made up of patients, staff and members of the public who must be consulted in decisions about their strategic direction.

How are they regulated?

Trusts are regulated by bodies including:

NHS Improvement will be the new regulator taking over the functions of Monitor and the Trust Development Authority.